LinuxLinks.com
Newbies What Next ? News Forums Calendar

Search/Browse

 Category Gateway
More Options
Category:

LinuxLinks News
 · A Beginner’s Introduction to Linux
 · Simon Tatham’s Portable Puzzle Collection – Games for the Brain
 · Captain Holetooth – Explorative 2D Platform Game for Kids
 · Taisei – A Classy, Frenetic Shoot’em Up Game in the Style of The Touhou Project
 · YouTube Channel
 · Minilens – Fun Open Source Puzzle Platform Game
 · Wizznic! – Highly Addictive Open Source Puzzle Game
 · Success! Beelink S1 Running Linux – Courtesy of the Open Source Community
 · Beelink S1 Mini PC and Linux – Comedy Gold
 · Fun Packed Open Source Action Games
(more...)
 

LinuxLinks Login

Login:

Password:



Click here
to start your own
Link collection!


Click to Visit

My LinuxLinks
 My LinuxLinksMyLinks  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

64 bit?
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    LinuxLinks.com Forum Index -> Distributions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nagasadhu
Corporal Penguin
Corporal Penguin


Joined: 19 Nov 2004
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Sat Nov 20, 2004 6:02 am    Post subject: 64 bit? Reply with quote

i'm a raw newbie not only to linux but to computing itself . although i dont understand fully why linux is great . i trust all the opensource geeks out there . i intend to run linux alongside windowsxp . i have a amd athlon 64 bit processor . are there any 64 bit versions of linux available ? will installing one on my sys make it any better than installing redhat 9 which is readily available
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

WarHwk1974
Colonel Penguin
Colonel Penguin


Joined: 03 Aug 2004
Posts: 762
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sat Nov 20, 2004 10:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fedora has one!

Check it out

Brian
AwPhuch
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trev
Captain Penguin
Captain Penguin


Joined: 13 Aug 2002
Posts: 356

PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2004 12:35 pm    Post subject: Re: 64 bit? Reply with quote

nagasadhu wrote:
i'm a raw newbie not only to linux but to computing itself . although i dont understand fully why linux is great . i trust all the opensource geeks out there . i intend to run linux alongside windowsxp . i have a amd athlon 64 bit processor . are there any 64 bit versions of linux available ? will installing one on my sys make it any better than installing redhat 9 which is readily available


Some 64 bit Linux distros (in no particular order)

You might also take a look at http://www.x86-64.org/, which is a site dedicated to porting open source software to the AMD64 architecture, including: GNU/Linux, FreeBSD, NetBSD and OpenBSD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Dave212
Corporal Penguin
Corporal Penguin


Joined: 12 Aug 2002
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2004 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm probably gonna get myself an AMD 64 processor. If I run 32 bit software on a 64 bit OS will it still be quicker? How much quicker for 64 bit software?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
trev
Captain Penguin
Captain Penguin


Joined: 13 Aug 2002
Posts: 356

PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2004 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dave212 wrote:
I'm probably gonna get myself an AMD 64 processor. If I run 32 bit software on a 64 bit OS will it still be quicker? How much quicker for 64 bit software?


Speed improvements running 64 bit software on an AMD64 processor are considerable. Depending on what you're doing (e.g. mysql stress testing, compiling, creating mp3's) you can see a 10-60% speed increase. But running 32 bit software on a 64 bit OS is a waste of time really, as if anything you'll get a slight performance decrease, although from my own testing there are a few cpu intensive tasks that can still benefit.

Of course, the real eye opener is the fact that a 64 bit processor can address 16 terabytes of RAM. Now, this amount should be enough for most people Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
durper287
Private Penguin
Private Penguin


Joined: 10 Apr 2004
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2005 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just got a AMD 64. I use Mandrake or I guess its Mandriva now. I was looking at the mirrors, and I only see the first cd in the x86_64 section. Do I get the other two from the i586 section? Anyone know what's going on with that?
_________________
Nascentes morimur
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nagasadhu
Corporal Penguin
Corporal Penguin


Joined: 19 Nov 2004
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I read some post talkin about
"pure 64-bit (Debian,Gentoo..) and hybrid ones(SuSe)"
whats this about??
The post didnt explain much!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nagasadhu
Corporal Penguin
Corporal Penguin


Joined: 19 Nov 2004
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 5:34 pm    Post subject: jigdo problem Reply with quote

I was trying to download debian AMD64 using jigdo in Windows cos i havent figured out how to use my usb modem in suse yet.
(I would appreciate any help on that front too).

I cleared out 15gb of space and put jigdo with the templates and the program files. jigdo aborts after a while saying no space code -3.
Can someone help me?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WarHwk1974
Colonel Penguin
Colonel Penguin


Joined: 03 Aug 2004
Posts: 762
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 12:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

can you download using bittorent?

Brian
AwPhuch
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nagasadhu
Corporal Penguin
Corporal Penguin


Joined: 19 Nov 2004
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dont flame me on this but if I understand right I need a static IP to do port forwarding so that I can have my bit torrent client working.
Kindly correct me if am wrong!
If thats the case then I cant use bit torrents.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    LinuxLinks.com Forum Index -> Distributions All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2002 phpBB Group
Built with GeekLog and phpBB
Comments to the webmaster are welcome
Copyright 2009 LinuxLinks.com - All rights reserved